Natura degli Affetti

Natura degli affetti: Italian Baroque and New Music

Emanuele Torquati, piano

As the title suggests, “Natura degli affetti” is a journey between different characters, in ancient Italian “affetti”, and musical epoques, the Baroque and the Contemporary one. The project is a costant justaxposition of landscapes and colours, from Domenico Scarlatti luminous Sonatas to rare Transcriptions made by Bela Bartòk of works by Zipoli and Frescobaldi, to Salvatore Sciarrino’s ecstatic and cruel Notturno and the humourous Filastrocca by Francesco Filidei.

All this collection is made by quite short pieces, condensing a peculiar character and expression, like in Castiglioni’s Sonatina, a three-movement form only 6 minutes long, where tenderness is mixed with an interesting touch of simplicity. A strong common point in all these works is the centrality of the melodic line, particularly evident in Bracci’s Canto notturno, commissioned for this project, and in the exquisite Transcription made by Giovanni Sgambati of one of “Orfeo e Euridice” most inspired melodies.

Domenico Scarlatti (1685-1757)

Sonata K 208

Eric Maestri (1980)

Natura degli affetti (2010)

Domenico Zipoli (1675-?)

Pastorale in do maggiore (arr. Bela Bartòk)

Giuliano Bracci (1980)

Canto notturno (2014)

Girolamo Frescobaldi (1583-1643)

Fuga in sol minore (arr. Bela Bartòk)

Niccolò Castiglioni (1932-1996)

Sonatina (1984)

Andantino mosso assai dolcino; Laendler – Allegro semplice; Fughetta

Giovanni Sgambati (1841-1914)

Melodie de Gluck, d’après “Orfeo ed Euridice”

Salvatore Sciarrino (1947)

Notturno crudele n. 1 (2001)

Domenico Scarlatti

Sonata K 132

Francesco Filidei (1973)

Preludio e Filastrocca (2011)